So this is what it feel like to be a normie, huh?

I’m doing the night shift (10pm-6am) at a temporary Royal Mail sorting centre set up for Xmas, it’s a temp job so only lasts 4 weeks. You’re welcome for the information detectives, I’m not going to post anything to fuck myself over, I’ll state facts, plain and simple but I’m not going  to go into overly weird observations. I took some more DNP since I ate particularly poorly.

My place of work is located a fair distance from my home, I get a nice little walk in, help burn some calories, get some fresh air an maybe even enjoy a little drizzle. I arrive on time, my name wasn’t on “the list” so I had to write it down but mercifully I found my ID card quickly, stood in a queue and waited a bit before being directed further indoors to an area with tables an chairs set up (the dining/break area). I felt like I’ve been in this situation before and knew that “friends” are made early, so I took a look around for someone around my power level, didn’t take long, found an 18-25, sitting alone, certain physical characteristics such as glasses, easy. He initiated conversation though, perhaps he was thinking the same thing about me?

The workplace was diverse, people of various ages, races and gender.

Did a H&S induction thing, took a tour around the site and a description of duties, for the most part I couldn’t see or hear anything. The first task of the day was moving some unloaded stacks of mail to other locations within the site, it was nice, got to be out in the cool outside air for a while, smiles and a bit of smalltalk was exchanged. This lasted about an hour or two, while speaking to my new friend again, we were summoned to another task, assembling some cardboard sleeves for post to be sorted into, it was apparently the easiest task available, during this period I once again met the guy who initiated conversation with me 3 weeks ago during the registration/interview event for this job, he was just as nice and friendly as before.

I several times acted in ways that made me self conscious, to alleviate the negative feelings, I would talk to myself, as if to explain to others watching and listening why I acted the way I did.

Had lunch, sat with the guy, I had 1 tuna sandwich, a yogurt and a banana.

I didn’t need permission to use the bathroom or grab water, so I did that all day.

The main meat of the job was sorting post, take a bag, take a package from the bag and toss it into another bag with the relevant postal code. It was painful due to having to stand up so much without moving. It’s a lonely boring task, autist friendly, I suppose.

I chatted with my pal some more on my way out, he likes Pokemon an turns out he has an interesting disability(?), he can’t visualise stuff. Might like anime in general. He lives in another town so this isn’t going to last, no point getting to chummy.

Mummy made my favourite meal today, a reward, I suppose.

5 thoughts on “So this is what it feel like to be a normie, huh?

  1. >I took some more DNP since I ate particularly poorly.

    Before or after your shift? You need to get out of the habit of treating yourself with poor food and thinking the DNP will offset everything, it won’t.

    >I several times acted in ways that made me self conscious, to alleviate the negative feelings, I would talk to myself, as if to explain to others watching and listening why I acted the way I did.

    This just sounds like one more reason to be self-conscious – it’s circular.

    Like

  2. just because the guy lives in another town doesn’t mean he can’t be a friend or it isn’t worth ‘investing’ in him

    you invest a lot of time in yourself poley (constant introspection and soul searching). if you want to be more of a normie you need to externalise your attention a lot more. A good way to do this is to invest in everyone you meet. take a genuine interest in other people – their welfare, their perspectives, their background.

    It’s exhausting but will take you where you want to be

    Like

Leave a Reply

