Day 3 of training

To clarify, week 1 is training in sales, week 2 is actually taking the phones and processing sales, the next 2 weeks are the same but for customer service. Next 3 months is actually performing work with weekly evaluations and is a probation period. The day was a bit of a blur, more power point and computer training for the bulk of the day, spent an hour watching someone actually taking calls, it’s far more helpful with regards to learning the job than anything else. 

People tried talking to me but it made me feel uncomfortable and guilty, uncomfortable because it’s difficult to speak and know what to say, I felt guilty because they were trying to talk to me but it appeared I didn’t appreciate it. The Pokémon/DnD player spoke to me about Pokémon again but it’s hard to change the topic because I don’t know his other interests apart from DnD.

The other guy with what I assume are alt interests also tried speaking to me, he mentioned he saw me on a Pokémon site yesterday and today he saw me checking an anime chart out of boredom during break, he tried talking to me about anime but he was more up to date than me so I looked like an idiot, someone with causal interests at best even though he hadn’t seen Kaiji. I tried recommending Kaiji to him but I couldn’t find the words to sell it, tried comparing it to YuGiOh, I’m especially disappointed because I’ve fantasised about recommending Kaiji to people several times.

There was a group activity where I found it difficult to speak despite having things to say. I think the EUs also have difficulty speaking, I should try harder to interact with them, I’m sensing they’re trying.

Still taking my drugs, might ask a GP for some more.

I told my mum and sister about how I find it difficult to speak since they keep trying to get me to open up but I also noted how what they say isn’t helpful.

8 thoughts on “Day 3 of training

  1. The huge irony with you being tongue tied and lost for words is that you’re an interesting and otherwise articulate person.

    Try this – when conversing with others, speak mainly to yourself. Fade out the other people into the background. Verbally interact with them, but don’t scrutinize their faces or responses for cues. Be your own audience. Dont pre plan what you say, speak whatever is in your mind, fluid and natural. They can take you or leave you, whatever

    Second, focus on speaking loudly, slowly and clearly. Speak deliberately. Separate those words

    Like

    • >The huge irony with you being tongue tied and lost for words is that you’re an interesting and otherwise articulate person.
      Thank you

      >Try this – when conversing with others, speak mainly to yourself. Fade out the other people into the background. Verbally interact with them, but don’t scrutinize their faces or responses for cues. Be your own audience. Dont pre plan what you say, speak whatever is in your mind, fluid and natural. They can take you or leave you, whatever
      That sounds difficult, sometimes my mind really does go blank, I either don’t know what to do with the conversation or I give the other person little to nothing to go with

      >Second, focus on speaking loudly, slowly and clearly. Speak deliberately. Separate those words
      I do need to this, you are correct.

      Like

      • > That sounds difficult, sometimes my mind really does go blank, I either don’t know what to do with the conversation or I give the other person little to nothing to go with.

        Think like an Eliza program. People love talking about themselves so when you draw a blank ask a question based upon the last thing they said.

        I don’t know shit about haram video games but let me think up an example.

        PERSON: And so my wife’s dowry was a goat, which died on our wedding night!

        ME: Abdul, was this your first wife?

        PERSON: No, my third.

        ME: I admire the way our religion has turned us into demographic bombs that will smash infidel society. Where do you go to mosque, Abdul?

        Seriously though, I would go further than the person above, but your brain is already moving at a different clip than your mouth and you don’t need to obsess any more about doing the “right thing” than you are. I will double the advice to slow down, speak up and speak clearly. I had to learn this myself, and I noticed that people paid much closer attention to what I said.

        Like

      • Thanks but I knew that you should try to get people to speak about themselves but it’s hard, you need to figure out the right question to ask and how to do it.
        e.g. how can I ask the DnD guys about dungeons and dragons? Is it too late now?

        The downside of speaking slower and more clearly is that it puts more focus on my statements and can kill the conversation.
        Speaking up though is just difficult, I feel like my throat tightens

        Like

      • You: You guys play D&D?

        Them: Yes. Do you?

        You: It’s been years since i was part of a regular group but I really want to join one.

        Poley, the plus side is that nobody cared what you said before. If they don’t care now, you haven’t lost anything. No big deal, just show people curiosity in people.

        Like

      • But I’d be lying and eventually get caught out due to my limited knowledge.

        I think I missed the boat with this batch of potential friends, I’ll try harder next time. I also find it difficult to speak unless it’s one on one.

        Like

      • No one cares.

        “Gosh it was awhile ago and I’ve forgotten a lot. I just actually picked up (whatever fag shit you just bought) last week because I missed playing.”

        Like

Leave a Reply

