Still trying, still optimistic

I once heard that pigeons are able to fly away as danger is approaching because they view time differently, it’s as if they are living a few seconds in the future. Something similar seems to have happened to me, time condenses around me, I love for the weekend but it flies by, much like the pigeon, the weekend can see me coming.

I took a driving test and went in with heaps of confidence but alas, the wheels fell off around 5 minutes in. The first mistake was at the traffic lights, I didn’t notice the filter arrow and instead sat staring at the red light until I was honked at, I didn’t fail here but should have, the next troubling part was performing the forward bay park, I used a shunt to get into the box but it was messy, I failed the test when I missed a give way line coming out of the car park. There were a total of 2 dangerous errors, 2 serious errors and 13 minor errors. I was disappointed but still believe I will pass in the future, my instructor got me another test on next week, it’s short notice but if I keep trying, I’ll get it eventually.

At work, I was eating my favourite meal, brown rice, a coworker asked what the meal was, I was hesitant to say it was “brown rice” as I’ve been mocked for it in the past, he called it pilau rice, I said it had chicken in it, he then said it was a biryani, I wonder if he is right, I bought a sachet of biryani mix at ASDA and will find out at a future date.

I bought tickets for AEW at Wembley stadium, it will be my second time there but I wasn’t able to get good tickets, they are cheap though, so it will be nice to at least be there, I don’t think I’ll be able to see anything, I’m going to be on the pitch, right at the back, basically a standing ticket.

Hogwarts Legacy was a very enjoyable game, I’m currently playing Resident Evil 4, the trick to playing these hot new games close to release without breaking the bank is to buy second hand copies on eBay from MusicMagpie and the like and then returning them for a refund within the returns period.

The house buying front is a bit of a mess, I had an offer accepted, arranged a survey, got a solicitor and started my mortgage process is good time but it turned out the place had damp and the bank wouldn’t provide a valuation due to this. I pulled out and the solicitor said I didn’t owe them any money but the survey cost is but over £400. Fortunately though, I had another offer accepted the same week, it’s a freehold, very well kept, close to work but it’s very small, I think I could be comfortable there. It’s a shame though the mortgage rates have risen again, around 4.25% now. I’d be getting a mortgage of around £60,000.

I rarely see my father anymore, almost never in the house, sometimes on the street as I’m going to work, he offers to give me a life to work, I decline.

56 thoughts on “Still trying, still optimistic

  1. You said before your favourite meal was chutney (not actually a meal but yes you did say this _condiment_ was your favourite _meal_)
    Which is it Ámer – brown rice or chutney????

    Like

  2. poley your dad prays to allah 5 times a day asking what he did wrong to have a son like you. spaffing up your mam was the worst thing he ever did and he knows it

    Like

      • What will you do differently in your own place? You lived alone before and did nothing but “work”, sleep and play video games.

        Like

      • He also stuffed his fat face don’t forget, he had something like 12 fried chicken places like Oregon Fried Chicken less than half a mile from his sordid little grief hole.

        Like

      • you cant use covid as an excuse tubby. you are literally doing the exact same thing now in your parents house. other than driving lessons, your life is no different

        Like

      • I went and looked through the blog posts from 2 and 3 years ago. Hilarious in retrospect. “I think I’m done with gaming” / “I’m going to get facial feminization surgery” / “I’m moving out so things will definitely change”

        Just the same big ball of nothing

        Like

  3. some people simply shouldnt be allowed to drive, once you failed the test 3 times you shouldnt be allowed to try again

    Like

    • I wouldn’t go as far as that but if you’re still making multiple dangerous errors on attempt 9 then you’re an accident waiting to happen even if you do fluke a pass

      Like

      • In poley’s defence (yes i am defending poley) the DSA are fail quota-hungry bastards. Squeeze out a fart during a driving test (fart loading) and you’ve failed. That’s probably where poley’s going wrong.

        Like

      • I get that but dangerous errors are a different beast to most majors i.e. not checking the mirrors often enough. which people rarely do once passed anyway. Multiple dangerous errors, like the one example Poley gave of not even stopping at a give way sign, is tantamount to driving your own coffin around.

        Like

      • Chris Chan managed to pass a driving test and somehow has only hit one person despite hallucinating a nightmare soup of pikachus and sonichu waifus at all times

        Like

  4. Driving is about attention at all times. There’s no glancing down at a trophies guide. You even have it set to easy by being in an automatic.

    Like

  5. > the trick to playing these hot new games close to release without breaking the bank is to buy second hand copies on eBay from MusicMagpie and the like and then returning them for a refund within the returns period

    I think this is what you’re most proud of in your life. You obsessively post over how you buy used games and then return them, as if this requires MIT-level skills rather than a pound-foolish sensibility.

    Like

  6. Now you’re unemployed (and unemployable) you should become a terminally-online YouTube personality like seasideMARK – but unlike his channel, you could add a new twist on it where it’s actually entertaining.

    Like

  7. Poley you should join Cameo so people can pay you to make personalised messages for them
    You’re leaving thousands of pounds on the table

    Like

    • posted on britfeel saying he’s still working as redundancy hasn’t gone through yet. also posted that he had an interview for another job at the company but feels like he botched it.

      Like

  8. Poley used to have such an adventurous life.

    Filming polish women pooping.
    Pissing in drinks.
    Getting regular visits by the police.
    Pissing his pants in public while surround by children (also that whole c u n n y thing).
    Jerking off to fantasies of his sisters.
    Poleslaw and PooOooOoOOoley.
    Trying to get raped by other tripfriends.

    Now he’s just a fat black skinned boring wagie. Bring back Poleaboo classic.

    Like

    • he’s all grown up now

      apart from spending all his time on video games, having no friends, no gf and still living with his parents. about as ‘grown up’ as you can expect from this slug.

      Like

  9. A week isn’t that bad but a
    month is pretty harsh, bro. What I think
    everyone would like to see is a
    return to regular posts.

    If you can’t manage that, I’m not
    sure what else we can tell you.

    And we’ve said all this before.

    Nobody really wants to see anyone hurt,
    or fail, or be in pain or anything like that.
    No one is hoping you get fired or arrested again.
    Cuz that would suck.
    Everyone just wants to read the first letter of every line.

    Like

Leave a comment